|Uley Long Barrow
Access any reasonable time by means of a short path from the road. Very peaceful place and the wild flowers growing on the mound are beautiful.
by English Heritage but managed by
tomb with the mound still in place. The front of the tomb is
still open and it is possible to get inside but the headroom is about
three feet! (1 metre)
The mound is 180 feet long (55 metres) and surrounded by a stone retaining wall. Dates from about 5,000 years ago. Five chambers arranged off a central passageway. Excavations in the 1820s and 1850s produced a number of skeletons.
bones of wild boar were also found in the mound, sugesting that the
animal was some sort of totem - there would be too little meat on a jaw
to suggest it is some sort of feast for the afterlife.
Its name derives from the 17th Century landowner’s wife, Hester Peggler.
Owned by English Heritage but managed by Gloucestershire County Council. Situated in a picnic area off the Dursley to Stroud road. Access at any reasonable time. Admission free. Plenty of off-road parking.
One of a number of similar long barrows in the area of a type known as Severn Cotswold. The mound is missing, revealing the shape of the chambers - three arranged off a central passageway and a small “forecourt” to the front. Remains of 17 individuals have been excavated from the site. Evidence of fires and a small pit near the entrance have been interpreted as “ritual” activity.
Although the mound dates from the Neolithic (5,000 years ago) there is evidence that it was revered for much longer. Bronze age finds and Roman pottery have been recovered from the mound. First excavated 1862. Last excavated 1974.
The view from the adjoining picnic area is stunning. (see picture at top) The site is at the top of an escarpment overlooking the Severn Valley and it is possible to see across to the Brecon Beacons and beyond.